GASG History

In 1993, the formerly known Department of Trade and Industry assisted in the formation of several Interest Groups through its Advanced Sensor Technology Transfer Programme scheme. One of these, GASG, subsequently convened its inaugural meeting in December 1993. The original GASG Committee consisted of Joe Watson (ex University of Wales, Swansea; Chairman), Jo Bazely (ex ASTTP), Peter McGeehin (ex UK Sensors Group), Russell Pride (ex British Gas) and Paul Corcoran (ex University of Derby).

The financial contribution of the ASTTP to GASG was issued in three annual tranches after which the GASG became self-supporting via annual membership fees. A sequence of colloquia (meetings) was duly set up, three Newsletters per year were published and a Proceedings booklet was distributed.

For over 20 years, GASG was run by our former chairman and now our President, Joe Watson, through an account at Swansea University. From 2016, GASG was reconstituted in its present state as an independent company limited by guarantee.

For more details click here

Members Area

Members Login

remember me

   Forgot password?

   Become a Member